Liechtenstein. (See Switzerland.)

Luxembourg. (See Belgium - Luxembourg.)

Malagasy Republic. Franco — Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Malagasy Republic. GATT effective September 30, 1963. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Mali. Franco — Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Mali. Mali maintains a de facto application of GATT. (Since the creation of Mali as an independent state in 1960, Canada has continued to grant most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Mauritania. Franco — Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Mauritania. GATT effective November 28, 1960. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Mexico. Trade Agreement in force June 5, 1947. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Morocco. Various agreements relating to former French, Spanish and International Zones of Morocco. (Since the creation of Morocco as an independent state in 1956, Canada has continued to grant most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Netherlands. Convention of Commerce of July 11, 1924 includes Netherlands Antilles and Surinam. GATT effective January 1, 1948. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Nicaragua. Trade Agreement in force December 19, 1946. GATT effective May 28, 1950. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Niger. Franco — Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Niger. GATT effective August 3, 1960. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Norway. Convention of Commerce and Navigation with UK of March 18, 1826 applied to Canada. GATT effective July 10, 1948. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Pakistan. Canada unilaterally accords British preferential treatment without contractual obligation. GATT effective July 30, 1948. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Pakistan. Pakistan accords most-favoured-nation tariff treatment to Canada.)

Panama. Exchange of notes in force August 12, 1935. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Paraguay. Exchange of notes in force June 21, 1940. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Peru. GATT effective October 8, 1951. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Philippines. Trade Agreement in force August 29, 1972. Granted provisional accession to GATT on August 9, 1973. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Poland. Convention of Commerce in force August 15, 1936. GATT effective October 18, 1967. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Portugal, Portuguese adjacent islands and Portuguese overseas provinces. Trade Agreement in force April 29, 1955. GATT effective May 6, 1962. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Qatar. Qatar maintains de facto application of GATT. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Romania. Trade Agreement went into effect March 22, 1971 and was renewed March 22, 1974 for a further one-year period. GATT effective November 14, 1971. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment and Romania endeavours to provide improved access for Canadian exports. Provides for annual consultations.)

Rwanda. GATT effective January 1, 1966. (Canada grants most-favoured-nation treatment.)

**Senegal.** Franco — Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Senegal. GATT effective June 20, 1960. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

South Africa. Trade Agreement in force October 13, 1932. Exchange of notes August 2-31, 1935, effective retroactively from July 1, 1935. GATT effective June 14, 1948. (Exchange of British preferential rates on scheduled items. Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)